REVIEW – Iron Man 3 (2013) ****

Running Time: 130 minutes.

(Main) Cast: Robert Downey Jr. (Sherlock Holmes) Gwyneth Paltrow (Sliding Doors) Ben Kingsley (Shutter Island) Don Cheadle (Crash) Guy Pearce (Memento) Rebecca Hall (The Prestige)

It’s finally here, the one we’ve all been waiting for, after the rather disappointing Iron Man 2; it wouldn’t be asking for a lot to want a more than ‘good’ third instalment, and boy did we get it!

Out of all the Avengers, Iron Man has always been my favourite superhero and this film just reinforces that. I would go as far and beyond to say that this is the best Iron Man film of the three, if I was to describe my viewing experience of Iron Man 3 in three words, it would be ‘It…was…EPIC’.

Now onto the film itself, the villain this time is veteran actor, Ben Kingsley as The Mandarin. In the running time of 2 hour 10 minutes, the audience get a lot of twists and turns as well as a number of ‘WTF’ moments – you’ll understand when you watch it, believe me!

Usually in my reviews I point out both the good and bad points, but that kind of feels like it would be a bit pointless seeing as I can’t actually think of any bad points at all. So basically this review is just going to be me praising the director, Shane Black and the cast Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Guy Pearce, Don Cheadle etc. you get the picture…

I’m not going to recap the film, I think that would literally be impossible as so much happens, I’d need to see it a good few times before I did that. Plus if I did do that, you might not watch it because I’ve spoiled it; I mean you’re obviously interested in the film because you’re reading this, so it would be better for both of us, if you just see it in the cinema (3D if you can, because it just enhances EVERYTHING).

Moving on to the film…Firstly, I think the rave music during the opening of the film deserves a mention, at this point (about 5-10 seconds in) I knew the film would be good, what makes it better, is that about 4 minutes later; Iron Man does what you could classify as a jig? It’s pretty hilarious to watch and as always RDJ shows just why he is paid so much for the role that he and only he can play so brilliantly.

The film begins with a flashback on New Year’s Eve, 1999 in Switzerland, in which Stark is in attendance, as always he has a lady on his arm. Anyway, Tony and his lady, Maya (scientist), are approached by a desperate looking man wanting them to take his card and call him, Tony being who he is, basically tells him to stick it. You then see that Tony spent the night with this woman but then took off the next morning, the importance of this comes in to play later on.

In the third instalment of Iron Man, we see the popular Marvel superhero, Tony Stark really struggling, as both Iron Man and Tony. His main priority is to keep the person he loves most, safe…that of course is the wonderful Pepper Potts played by Gwyneth Paltrow. We see that Stark hasn’t yet recovered mentally from the events in New York and they’re haunting him to this day, causing his insomnia and severe anxiety attacks. However, he is still as witty as always, perhaps even more so than the other movies. You also get to see a glimpse of what Tony would be like as a father, as there is a kid who ‘assists’ Tony with his mechanical work, when stranded in Tennessee, it’s all very sweet!

To me, this film feels very split in two, the first hour shows Tony’s struggles, the terror that comes with The Mandarin and the destruction of Tony’s home address, which he foolishly gives out. The second half revolves around some very odd ‘quirky’ moments and Tony’s comeback – similar to Batman in The Dark Knight Rises. On a cryptic note, let me tell you something…The Mandarin isn’t who you think he is.

What I liked so much about the film was that it didn’t drag at any point, if the pace of the film slowed down, it would speed up again before you could get bored, keeping the audience entertained at all times. I would definitely say it’s the best of the Iron Man series, despite Iron Man being very impressive, this film was just that bit better, more action, more twists, but less of his alter ego, and more of Tony Stark – which was really refreshing to see.

Verdict: 4/5

I give it 4 and not 5 stars, because there was a specific aspect of the film which I feel could’ve been done better, I won’t spoil it because it has something to do with the twist – which I’m pretty sure you won’t see coming! Apart from that, the film was truly epic, it says something when despite the costly tickets prices nowadays I’m still prepared to pay the money to watch it again, because it’s so good. I feel you kind of have to see it again, because so much happens it’s very easy to miss things, especially when Tony and Pepper talk so god damn fast. As sad as it may be, I think this may be the last Iron Man film, unless Marvel really want to drag it out and go ahead with Iron Man 4. According to various sources, Gwyneth Paltrow has also said there won’t be a fourth film, nevertheless, Iron Man 3 is a perfect way to end the very successful legacy of Mr Tony Stark, they wrapped it up very nicely.

On a quick note: Stay until the very end – post-credits, as always with Marvel, you get an extra scene plus a little insight in to Tony Stark’s future within the films…

Tony Stark’s Best Quotes:

–          Do you know a question I keep asking myself, where’s my sandwich?

–          (Addressing The Mandarin) You’re not a man. You’re nothing more than a maniac. I’m not afraid of you. No politics here: just good old fashioned revenge.

–          (To Rhodes) We do need back-up//there’s my boys…

One thought on “REVIEW – Iron Man 3 (2013) ****

  1. Pingback: Everything That’s Wrong With Iron Man in 4 Minutes Or Less (Video) | Off the record, on the QT and very Hush-Hush

Leave a Reply

