Glee Perform Katy Perry’s Hit ‘Wide Awake’ – One Of Their Best Covers TO DATE!

Right, I have a thing for slowed down-versions of songs, especially when Glee do it. Despite some of their questionable choices regarding new characters, relationships and dialogue, I personally think Glee always do great covers, they know music best.

Prior to this episode my two favourite Glee covers were Naya Rivera’s (Santana) cover of Taylor Swift’s ‘Mine’ and the Glee girls’ (minus Rachel) singing Florence & The Machine’s ‘Shake It Out’. In this episode titled ‘A Katy or A Gaga’, the Gaga fans had to sing a Katy Perry song (if you didn’t know, K-Perry is one of my FAVOURITE singers) so I was curious (and a little nervous) what they would sing and how they would sing it.

I had no reason to be nervous, at all. Jake, Unique, Tina and Kitty sung ‘Wide Awake’ from Katy Perry’s ‘Teenage Dream: The Complete Confection’ album. Call me naive or whatever, but I usually prefer Glee covers to the originals. Of course there are some exceptions, but most of the time I find myself listening to the Glee version rather than the original artist singing.

I’m not going to say it was better than Katy Perry’s version of the song, but it was definitely on par with it. As I said, I’m a sucker for slowed-down songs, Alex Anders & co. did this cover, wonders. It’s so beautifully touching, you can really hear the lyrics. Jacob Artist (Jake) was at his best here, along with Becca (Kitty). All four were brilliant, but those two shone for me. ‘Wide Awake’ is definitely one of my favourite Glee covers to date, it was simple yet so powerful. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

