Top 5 Albums Of 2013!

2013 hasn’t necessarily been the best year…but it has been a great year for music. Among the hundreds of albums that charted in the top 40; I’ve picked my five personal favourites. 2013 has also been a year of surprises in the music industry; Justin Timberlake announcing that he was working on new music then Beyoncé dropping her album at midnight, pop stars are having to find different ways to make people listen to their music first of all, without even buying it. Here are my favourite five albums this year (not in order):

demi-lovato-demi-new-album-cover-art__oPt Demi by Demi Lovato

Upon releasing ‘Demi’, Demi Lovato said she was disappointed with the way her previous album ‘Unbroken’ went, artistically. This self-titled album was a pleasant surprise, I’ve always valued Demi as an artist, I like her songs and the way she so passionately sings them (there’s nothing worse than an artist singing their own song without any emotion whatsoever). This album though, just blew me away. It was so different from her previous album, it was more meaningful and the songs just felt that bit more mature. Very good.

 Best Song(s): Nightingale, In Case and Neon Lights.

 Least Favourite: Really Don’t Care.

H.O Hall of Fame by Big Sean

I’m not going to lie, I only knew about Big Sean after he started dating Glee star, Naya Rivera. Sure I had heard songs he had featured on, but I had never listened to any of his solo work. I was curious to know his ‘style’, so I searched iTunes and found the preview of his new album. As soon as I had listened I decided to buy the album, boy am I glad I did. I can’t stop listening to this day! His lyrics are so meaningful and interpretive which is probably why I like it so much, it’s also very inspiring and just generally great music that doesn’t get old.

Best Song(s): Ashley, All Figured Out, First Chain and Beware.

Least Favourite(s): Freaky and MILF.

justin_timberlake_20_20_experience_complete_package-500x50020/20 Experience (Pt 1 & 2) by Justin Timberlake

Admit it, JT was missed when he decided to focus on acting and put his singing career on the back burner. Earlier this year when he announced his comeback, he not only shocked us with one new album but with two brand new albums. ’20/20 Experience’ is definitely that, an experience. It feels different to his older stuff, but actually different from what other artists are putting out. Just listening to some of these songs made me feel suave. A really unique sounding album.

Best Song(s): Mirrors, Pusher Love Girl, Strawberry Bubblegum and Take Back The Night.

Least Favourite(s): True Blood and Spaceship Coupe.

katy-perry-prism Prism by Katy Perry

K-Perry is one of my favourite celebrities. She’s also one of my favourite vocalists too, after seeing her at Wembley for her ‘California Dreams’ tour, I just appreciated her so much more. ‘Teenage Dream’ is one of my all time favourite albums because it’s got the right balance of fun and drama. ‘Prism’ is exactly the same and the perfect successor, I don’t know where it ranks in regards to ‘Teenage Dream’, but all I know is that I love it. It has a more mature feel but still has fun elements!

 Best Song(s): Unconditionally, Legendary Lovers, By The Grace of  God and This Is How We Do.

 Least Favourite(s): This Moment and International Smile.

Beyonce_album Beyoncé by Beyoncé

Musically, the biggest surprise of the year, no? Queen Bey didn’t do any fancy announcement/promote it, she just put it out in to the big wide world and watched it fly. Made exclusive to iTunes, her self-titled fifth studio album rocketed in the charts, as expected. In my opinion the album is very different to previous music, I would say it’s more personal, more risque and more R&B. The accompanying music videos really enforce the whole ‘visual album’, I don’t just mean literally, but in the sense of you see what she sees. Superb album!

Best Song(s): Pretty Hurts, Heaven, XO and Drunk In Love.

 Least Favourite(s): No Angel and Partition.

Do you agree with me? Are there any albums you think I should of included? Leave a comment or vote in the poll!

Leave a Reply

