Review: Justin Timberlake ‘The 20/20 Experience’ (12th April 2014)

Image

He’s bringing sexy back…

Last weekend I was lucky enough to see the extraordinarily talented Justin Timberlake during his European leg of ‘The 20/20 Experience’ tour. I attended the Saturday 12th April at LG Arena in Birmingham, UK (which was the last concert in England).

The arena opened at 6.30pm, my friend and I arrived at 7pm which was an hour before the concert was due to start. If you have tickets/you’re planning on going, then make sure you have cash for the merchandise store. It’s rather expensive (perhaps more-so than Beyonce), but there is also a lot of choice too. The sorts of things on offer ranged from Wristbands, Shot Glasses, T-Shirts (many varieties), Hotpants/Shorts, Keyrings and so on. If I remember rightly, T-Shirts were £30 and Hoodies were £60.

I bought a T-Shirt which had the golden 20/20 Experience Pt.2 cover on the front and on the back, all the places JT was visiting on the tour with a cool effect. I also bought the tour programme for £15.

We already know that in his music videos, Justin Timberlake is one of the smoothest dancers and one of the best male vocalists there’s ever been. However, you always wonder when attending a concert, ‘can they actually sing and dance and STILL sound good?’ I will only say this once, Yes. He. Can.

I have to say this concert is up there with one of the best moments of my life. Justin Timberlake just gave it his all, his singing was spot on – he hit all the high notes, his dancing was mesmerizing, I found myself completely in awe of him. Most definitely the £50+ I’ve paid. There’s just something about his stage presence, he really owns the stage.

The whole show must have probably averaged at around 2.5 hours (taking out intermission). It’s hard to imagine how someone with so many hit records can pack all them all in to just one show. There was a very special moment in the show in which JT pays homage to the King of Pop, Michael Jackson, by singing Human Nature. Crediting him as being an inspiration to him, JT told everyone to ‘sing loud enough so he can hear us’ which i thought was particularly touching.

At the start I thought I wouldn’t get a great view because our seats were central, but we were right near the back. So I was really happy when I saw a moving platform coming in our direction in which JT proceeded to perform a few more of his songs.

To sum it up, I had the best time, JT pretty much sung all the songs I liked of his bar Strawberry Bubblegum and You Got It On. ‘The 20/20 Experience’ was definitely on par with Beyonce and her ‘Mrs. Carter Tour’, concert-wise. The two of them are legends and I feel incredibly grateful to not only have seen them both in concert, but also blessed that I’m alive during their greatness.

Set list:

  1. Pusher Love Girl
  2. Gimme What I Don’t Know (I Want)
  3. Rock Your Body
  4. FutureSex/LoveSound
  5. Like I Love You
  6. My Love
  7. TKO
  8. Summer Love
  9. LoveStoned
  10. Until the End of Time
  11. Holy Grail
    (JAY Z cover) (first verse)
  12. Cry Me a River

INTERMISSION (15 MINUTES)


  1. Only When I Walk Away
  2. Drink You Away
  3. Tunnel Vision
  4. Señorita
  5. Let the Groove Get In
  6. Heartbreak Hotel
    (Elvis Presley cover)
  7. Not a Bad Thing
  8. Human Nature
    (Michael Jackson cover)
  9. What Goes Around… Comes Around
  10. Take Back the Night
  11. Jungle Boogie
    (TN Kids cover)
  12. Murder
  13. Poison
  14. Suit & Tie

ENCORE


 

  1. SexyBack
  2. Mirrors
Leave a Reply

