A Look At 2015 Academy Best Picture Nominee ‘Selma’

la_ca_1021_selma

My local cinema didn’t make it easy to watch Selma, not in the slightest. In the end I ended up having to pay for a premium seat (with perks such as comfy leather seats, fresh popcorn and ice-cold coke) so all wasn’t bad, even if this did mean having to hop on the train and go to the city to watch it. Most other films and I wouldn’t have bothered, but there was something I felt compelling me to watch it in the cinema before it was released on DVD.

Boy am I glad I did. I tend to visit the cinema a lot, watching films from Big Hero 6 to the likes of Lincoln. I studied History at school so any movie based on an aspect of History and I’m likely there. I remember learning about Martin Luther King back in primary school. Even back then I was amazed by the immense courage this one human being had – of course he had masses of support behind him, but only after watching the film did I realise the real struggles he faced.

Despite the film being based on true events and therefore there not really being anything to spoil I didn’t feel a review was exactly necessary. I do however, want to praise the film. I watched the film two days ago, but still can’t get it out of my mind. Every time I get a free moment my mind automatically goes back to it, it really affected me, in terms of the filmmaking it was remarkable, the fact that it was based on what had actually happened in Selma, Alabama just made me sad.

From start to finish the film is engaging, filled with hope for change helped by the inspirational leadership from Martin Luther King played by British actor David Oyelowo (it’s a massive injustice he wasn’t nominated for an Oscar as to say he deserved it would be a massive understatement, shame on the Academy!!).

Right from the get-go you are thrown in to the action with a explosion that will likely make most cinema-goers jump. The numerous brutalities shown in the film make it difficult to watch at times, but you do because you know it happened and it’s the least you can do when you compare it to the disgusting treatment these people faced back in the 1960s. Leading on from that I found it difficult to come to terms with that this type of behaviour was still going on only fifty years ago to this date in 1965.

Featuring the likes of Oprah Winfrey, Lorraine Toussaint, Common and a long array of other talented actors, Selma really is a film to be experienced on the silver screen. It’s so incredibly powerful with the surround sound and quite literal big picture, I feel that if it lost any of this, the impact wouldn’t be as full on. It made me feel emotions I’ve never felt before when watching a film. I’ve been annoyed when watching TV/Films if things don’t go the way I want, but this feeling was pure anger. I cried too, more than once. The type of crying that isn’t hysterical but tears rolling down my cheeks uncontrollably because there are moments that are nothing short of heart-wrenching. How Ava DuVernay didn’t get a ‘Best Director’ nod infuriates me, because until two days ago I had never experienced some of the feelings I felt in the screen from a film before, and that’s surely what the Oscars are all about recognising films that are entertaining, but also thought-provoking. It’s a great shame.

The song ‘Glory’ by John Legend and Common as performed at the 2015 Grammys, plays during the credits and is definitely worth staying for. It’s very relevant to this day and age whilst having a lovely sound. As soon as I got home I downloaded it from iTunes straight away. I’m rooting for it to win ‘Best Original Song’ at the Oscars and am glad this hasn’t been overlooked, also.

What happens when a man stands up and says enough is enough – Martin Luther King

Have you seen Selma, if so, what did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

