Saying Farewell to Glee: Top 5 Santana Lopez Songs/Performances

Santana Glee

I can’t believe the end of Glee come round so quick. It has gotten to the point where some episodes were considered ‘fillers’ or were just plain stupid ‘The Hurt Locker Pt 1 & 2’ I’m looking at you, however, I am very sad that it’s ending. Like most fans, I grew up with the show during my teenage years, anything that reminds you of how far you have come instantly makes hits a soft spot. I will miss the stories – some of which were ground-breaking and very touching, I will of course miss the characters, but the thing I’m finding hardest to cope with is the fact that no more songs will be covered. My iPod is full of songs performed on the show. I’m not sure if I’m in the minority here, but I find that 90% of the time Glee did a better cover than the original.

Saying goodbye to my favourite character on TV, Santana Lopez, will also be sad. The show has always gone all out for her or turned a blind eye to her, never coming inbetween when it comes to screentime. Not only does her portrayer, Naya Rivera have a killer voice (the best voice on the show in my opinion), she also brought a vulnerability to Santana that I don’t believe anyone else could have. I honestly believe some of Naya’s performance’s were Emmy-worthy. I regret that she wasn’t given more screentime, however her character development more than makes up for it. From the realisation that the love of her life is also her best friend, and a girl Brittany, to her complex relationship with her Abuela and accepting herself for whom she is (a kick-ass individual who deserves every ounce of success she’s already had, and will have) Santana Lopez has really been on a beautiful journey.

As mentioned above, Santana aka Naya has a voice that can’t fully be comprehended in words. Out of all the singers in the world, Naya is up there for me. So, making this list of my top 5 favourite solos and top 5 group numbers/duets/back-up performances was a task in itself. There’s so much goodness in her repertoire, how can I choose?!

…Moments later, I came up with a list. As follows…

Solos:

No. 5 – Don’t Rain on My Parade (5×09 “Frenemies”)

No. 4 – Love You Like a Love Song (3×19 “Prom-asaurus”)

No. 3 – Nutbush City Limits (4×13 “Diva”)

No. 2 – If I Die Young (5×03 “The Quarterback”)

No. 1 – Mine (4×04 “The Break-Up”)

Group Number/Duet/Back-Up:

…Ok, so slight confession here. I knew when I wrote this earlier that there was a musical number which felt like it was missing, I just couldn’t put my finger on it. That’s when it dawned on me what the song was, and how stupid I was to miss it out. Therefore I now have six songs in my ‘top 5’ as opposed to well, five. The original number 1 has now taken the number 2 spot!

No. 6 – Toxic (5×12 “100”)

No. 5 – Landslide (2×15 “Sexy”)

No. 4 – So Emotional (3×17 “Dance with Somebody”)

No. 3 – There Are Worse Things I Could Do (4×06 “Glease”)

No. 2 – Rumour Has It/Someone Like You (3×06 “Mash Off”)

No. 1 – Shake It Out (3×18 “Choke”)

Honourable Mentions:

I’ve limited myself to five, because this shit is hard.

Solos – Back to Black, Valerie, Songbird and If I Can’t Have You and Cold Hearted

Group Numbers/Duets/Back-Up – Home, Homeward Bound/Home, Love Song, At the Ballet and Smooth Criminal

There we have it, my list of favourite songs/performances by the incredible Santana Lopez and her portrayer, Naya Rivera. Next up; the beloved Finn Hudson, portrayed by the late Cory Monteith ❤

5 thoughts on “Saying Farewell to Glee: Top 5 Santana Lopez Songs/Performances

  1. Pingback: A(ll) T(hings) E(ntertainment) | Saying Farewell to Glee: Top 5 Finn Hudson Songs/Performances

  2. Pingback: A(ll) T(hings) E(ntertainment) | Saying Farewell to Glee: Top 5/10 Rachel Berry Songs Performances

  3. Santana WAS Glee. I wish they had given her a bigger part – I would have loved to see more of her. A Santana and Brittany spin off would not be wrong….

Leave a Reply

